Caribou County: www.cariboucounty.us
Marriage License

Marriage Licenses

Marriage Licenses are issued in the Clerk's Office Caribou County Courthouse Room #202.

The Clerk's Office is open Monday-Friday from 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. including lunch hour and is closed on all State Holidays.

If you will be married in Idaho, you must obtain a marriage license. If you are to be married in another state, you will need to get a license from that state.


WHAT YOU WILL NEED IF YOU ARE OVER 18 YEARS OF AGE

  • Both parties need to be present to fill out the Marriage License Affidavit.
  • Proof of identiy is required (drivers license, state issued ID, military ID)
  • Social Security Numbers are required
  • The cost of a marriage license is $28. Cash, Check, or Credit Card Accepted

Two copies are issued - one is for the couple, the other is sent back to us by the person performing the ceremony so we can record it and file it with the Bureau of Vital Statistics in Boise.


WHAT YOU WILL NEED IF YOU ARE 16 OR 17 YEARS OF AGE

Both people need to appear at the courthouse in person. ONE PARENT MUST BE PRESENT TO SIGN FOR EACH PERSON UNDER 18.

  • Both parties need to be present to fill out the Marriage License Affidavit
  • Proof of identity is required (drivers license, state issued ID, military ID)
  • Social Security Numbers are required
  • The cost of a marriage license is $28 Cash, Check, or Credit Card Accepted

Two copies are issued - one is for the couple, the other is sent back to us by the person performing the ceremony so we can record it and file it with the Bureau of Vital Statistics in Boise.


WHAT YOU WILL NEED IF YOU ARE UNDER 16 YEARS OF AGE

If you are under 16 years of age, you must have an appointment with the Magistrate Judge to obtain a court order permitting the 16 year old to be married. You may make an appointment with the Magistrate Court Judge at 547-4342. Also one parent must be present to sign for each person under 16.

  • Both parties need to be present to fill out the Marriage License Affidavit
  • Proof of identity is required (drivers license, state issued ID, military ID)
  • Social Security Numbers are required
  • The cost of a marriage license is $28. Cash, Check, or Credit Card Accepted 

Two copies are issued - one is for the couple, the other is sent back to us by the person performing the ceremony so we can record it and file it with the Bureau of Vital Statistics in Boise.


FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Who can perform the wedding ceremony? 

A Judge, Mayor or person recognized by religion (Minister, Bishop, etc). You will need to contact these people early so you will be placed on their calendar. You may make an appointment with the Magistrate or District Court Judge at 547-4342.

Do I need to be a resident of Idaho to obtain a marriage license?

No, however, with an Idaho State license, you must get married in the State of Idaho.

Is there a waiting period before using the license?

No, you may get married the same day.

Do you require blood tests?

No, the State of Idaho no longer requires blood test. State Law, Idaho Code 32-412A, requires both parties to read and sign a premarital AIDS educational pamphlet. (We will give you one)

Do both of us need to come to the Courthouse to get the marriage license?

Yes, both male and female must appear before the clerk.

After we receive the Marriage License, are we married?

No, an authorized clergy member, judge or other designated official, must perform the ceremony.

Will the Marriage License expire?

 Yes, the marriage license must be used within a year. 

Caribou County Idaho

Caribou County Courthouse | 159 South Main | Soda Springs, Idaho 83276 | (208) 547-4324

Website Developed by Veridean Technology Solutions
Caribou County Idaho